Holidays - Spain

Spain, officially the Kingdom of Spain, is a country and member state of the European Union located in southwestern Europe on the Iberian Peninsula. Its mainland is bordered to the south and east by the Mediterranean Sea except for a small land boundary with the British Overseas Territory of Gibraltar; to the north by France, Andorra, and the Bay of Biscay; and to the northwest and west by the Atlantic Ocean and Portugal.

Spanish is spoken all over the country and so is the only language with official status nationwide. Roman Catholicism has long been the main religion of Spain, and although it no longer has official status by law, in all public schools in Spain students have to choose either religion or ethics and Catholic is the only religion officially taught although in some schools there are large numbers of Muslim students together.

The Prado Museum is regarded as one of the world’s great museums. Granada is set against the mountain backdrop of the Sierra Nevada. The city is most famous for being the ancient Moorish capital of Spain and home to La Alhambra, one of the greatest undertakings of Islamic art and architecture. The Balearic Islands lie just off the eastern Spanish mainland. They are made up of four main islands – Mallorca, Menorca, Ibiza and Formentera. Each island has its own distinct personality and charm. Madrid is the cultural heart of the Spain, where many of the country's finest and most famous museums reside. The Plaza Mayor is a tourist Mecca with outdoor dining and cafes.